Join the Conversation

To sign in, use your existing MySonicWall account. To create a free MySonicWall account click "Register".

Real world experience with Gen 7 Firewalls

Can't find an official channel for customer feedback so I'll post here in the hopes that it will be passed onto the dev team.

Professional Network IT consultant by trade, having worked with Sonicwalls for over 10 years. I've deployed a half dozen Gen 7 Firewalls of a variety of difference models now and I have feedback regarding how it's gone.

First of all I want to say that switching to the Gen 7 interface has actually been a pretty good process so far. I appreciate that a lot of care was put into making it very similar to the old interface so it took very little time to get up to speed on the new version. Usually when a company puts out a new UI they change things for the sake of changing things and it's really irritating for those of us that have been using it forever, so thanks for keeping all the functions and buttons in generally the same places despite the graphical uplift. That's saved us a lot of time in training and re-learning

In particular I want to pass on a message from my Junior tech. His experience has been on Palo, Cisco, Sophos, and Fortinet and I'm won him over to Sonicwall with little effort. In particular he's been very impressed at how quickly he learned the interface and commented that it takes significantly less clicks and configuration to get even complex Firewall configs going. Configuring Sonicwalls is noticeably faster, and saves our customers between 1-2 hours of consulting time on average to get everything configured and going.