Join the Conversation

To sign in, use your existing MySonicWall account. To create a free MySonicWall account click "Register".

Permanently delete default rules

Dear all,


I have recently purchased two firewall NSa 2700 in HA. When I turned them on and configured the HA I saw that many access rules are configured by default in the firewall. I have deleted all of them by enabling the option in the "diag" menu but the surprise I got was that once I turn off or restart the firewalls these rules are created again automatically. Is there any way to delete these rules and start creating rules from 0?


I thought that this was due to the options to automatically add rules in the checks that appear in each zone but when I deactivate these checks, all the deleted rules continue to be generated automatically after each reboot or power off and on.


I hope you can help me.


Thank you very much in advance and best regards,

Category: Firewall Management and Analytics
Reply

Answers

  • AjishlalAjishlal All-Knowing Sage ✭✭✭✭

    @RAguilar

    As per my knowledge, You cannot delete the default SonicWALL rules. but you can either deny/allow the rule.

  • TKWITSTKWITS Community Legend ✭✭✭✭✭

    The rules are auto-created for a reason. Learn to live with them as you will never be able to get rid of them.

  • ArminFArminF Newbie ✭

    Having the same question.

    Disabled in DIAG and disabled in Zones. But rules appear after reboot.

    I do not use most of the zones so it would have a better overview just seeing the rules i created.


    Workaround i thought to move to manual priority set my rules from the top and then add a Deny All rules beneath the ones i use.

    So if auto generated rules would pop up again they would be below the Deny All. Would this work?


    thanks

    armin

  • MitatOngeMitatOnge Cybersecurity Overlord ✭✭✭

    cannot delete default rule. You should create shadowing rules for default rules.

  • ArminFArminF Newbie ✭

    Morning all,

    did get rid of the default by disabling them in zones and diag.

    Only the management still remains which is OK.


    thank you for your support!

  • TKWITSTKWITS Community Legend ✭✭✭✭✭

    Semantics... I suppose no one asked if you had DISABLED the auto-create rules in the Zones... because that isn't DELETING.

Sign In or Register to comment.