Join the Conversation

To sign in, use your existing MySonicWall account. To create a free MySonicWall account click "Register".

Unable to register the firewall

I am new to firewalss.

for my home labbing i bought a used tz400 firewall from a person.

since the person who doesn know the password word of firewall i had reset the firwall.

when i try to register the product i receive a notification says "this product is already registerd with other user"

that reseller also doest know the details of registerd user.

so, is there any way to re register the product under my name?

my main purpurse is enabling vpn connection to my home network from remote place, to achive this goal should i need to purches additional licence ?

i there any place where i can learn about sonic wall firewall?

Category: Entry Level Firewalls
Tagged:

Answers

• SaravananSaravanan Moderator

Hi @FIRNAS87,

Thank you for visiting SonicWall Community.

You should be able to get the device registered under your name. Please contact our Customer Service team w.r.t this query and they are the right resource to help you on this matter.

Hope this helps.

Regards

Saravanan V

Technical Support Advisor - Premier Services

Professional Services

• TKWITSTKWITS Community Legend ✭✭✭✭✭

Basically if you can prove you physically have the device (e.g. send them a photo of the serial number label), and purchased it (e.g. invoice), they will transfer the device to your account.

Normally though you'd buy from a reputable seller who can transfer the device to you.

• mervynmervyn Newbie ✭

Can someone help me on this as I'm also facing the same problem - "Serialnumber is already Registered to some other user". Sonicwall support insist on getting an approval from current owner.

• LarryLarry All-Knowing Sage ✭✭✭✭

@mervyn - SonicWall has the guidelines regarding device transfer clearly identified at the start of this KB article:

If you know the previous owner of the device, get them to start the process.