Join the Conversation

To sign in, use your existing MySonicWall account. To create a free MySonicWall account click "Register".

Can't log into my SOHO after uploading new firmware

My login no longer works. I did save my configurations beforehand. What is the default login?

FYI: I'm a newbie; not that technical. This is for a home network. Have the SOHO between my Fios ONT and my router.

Category: Entry Level Firewalls

Answers

• Hello @slbowen,
    If you are getting incorrect username/password error, please reset the firewall to factory default configuration. You can then import the setting file (exp). The default credentials are admin/password.

Thanks!

Shipra Sahu

Technical Support Advisor, Premier Services

• slbowenslbowen Newbie ✭

Thanks for responding Shiprasahu93... I just tried admin/password and it still won't let me in. Yes, the error is incorrect username/password. However I did nothing to reset it. Can that done via the hardware device (if so how). Thanks.

• The only reason that it won't accept your previously configured username/password is if you booted with a backup configuration. I can't think of anything else that can cause this.

Good that you have the settings back up taken, so you can follow the procedure mentioned before.

Thanks!

Shipra Sahu

Shipra: Not sure you saw my next comment (I don't see how to reply directly to you). I tried my old credentials and I tried username 'admin' and password 'password' (I assume that is your suggestion) and neither let me in. Can I reset from outside the device?

• shiprasahu93shiprasahu93 Moderator
    edited October 2020
    @slbowen,
    There is a reset button next to the power slot, you can hold that you 30-45 seconds and once the test light starts blinking you will be in safe mode.

Please use this KB for reference.

https://www.sonicwall.com/support/knowledge-base/how-can-i-put-the-sonicwall-into-safe-mode/170507123738054/