Join the Conversation

To sign in, use your existing MySonicWall account. To create a free MySonicWall account click "Register".

Options

Setting up Wireless Access Point to DSL Modem

NiallMNiallM Newbie ✭
edited March 23 in High End Firewalls

HI All

I am new to SonicWall and have some networking experience. I want to use a SonicWall TZ215 as a home Router and for VPN connection. Below is what I have done and where I am stuck

Working

-- Setup DHCP on Wireless

-- WAN is connecting to Fiber. I had to tag the packet with VLan 10

Issue

I am not getting any communication from Wireless to WAN. I am getting 'No route to host' when trying to ping it or getting any internet access.

Would there be any good tutorials on setting up a Wireless Access Point? I have gone through the Wizard for setting up home office but still no luck. I will add screen shots in a little while. What do you need to see?

Not sure why this went in to High End Firewall this is for a TZ 215. I an old entry level firewall i believe.

Category: High End Firewalls

Answers

• Options
    MarkDMarkD Cybersecurity Overlord ✭✭✭

I would go back to the basic, you don't say this is a 215W using the internal wireless, so I'm assuming an external AP plugged into one of the interfaces.

firstly ensure that a device directly plugged into the interface can communicate using the WAN address and work back from there

• Options
    NiallMNiallM Newbie ✭

Thanks Mark, I am going to use a second computer one on the LAN and one on the WAN and see if they are communicating. I had the same computer on both and that was working. Found out how to take screen shots my mac eventually :)

Below are the interfaces

and the default routes.

I have been playing adding my own route but no look on that. Is there anything else that I could add, that might help or a document/question to read up on? I will search the knowledge base as well.