Join the Conversation

To sign in, use your existing MySonicWall account. To create a free MySonicWall account click "Register".

Options

Wake on Lan over SSL VPN - TZ470

dbdan22dbdan22 Newbie ✭

Hi,

Newbie here.

I'm trying to get Wake on Lan working over a Netextender SSL VPN connection to a TZ470.

I'm using Nirsoft WakeMeOnLan for the magic packet generator.

I followed the instructions for setting up WOL at https://www.sonicwall.com/support/knowledge-base/how-do-i-allow-wake-on-lan-packets-to-pass-through-a-sonicwall/190619062738724/

I've made the necessary changes to BIOS / Windows / Network card, etc to enable WOL on the PC. It works on the LAN.

But it's not working over the VPN connection.

If someone with a working WOL setup could share some tips to get WOL through VPN I'd greatly appreciate it. Conceptually I understand what needs to be done but I'm getting bogged down in the details.

Also is there a better WOL magic packet generator I should be using?

Thanks in advance.

Category: SSL VPN

Answers

• Options
    BWCBWC Cybersecurity Overlord ✭✭✭

@dbdan22 WoL does not work out of the box over Layer3 and need some requirements.

First of all, WoL using the MAC address will not work obviously so we need a WoL client supporting sending the magic packet to an IP address, Nirsoft seems to do that. This requires a static IP for the client.

Second your VPN access settings for SSL VPN must allow access to the IP address you wanna wake up.

Third, which is probably your missing link, the Firewall does not know the MAC address of the client, because ARP requests do not get answered when the client is offline. The only way I'am aware of to solve this, is to create a static ARP entry (the MAC address of the client) to enable the Firewall to route the magic packet properly to it's destination.

Hopefully this helps a little, if not you might check with Packet Monitor if there is anything dropped on it's way.

--Michael@BWC

• Options