Join the Conversation

To sign in, use your existing MySonicWall account. To create a free MySonicWall account click "Register".

Options

**2 week project to map a server! and still no go**

ok i’m going insane here . . . once upon a time, i used to help small business technically which included setting up networks for them just to say i have some experience. got a comcast biz gateway device and block of 5 addresses – can port forward/filter with just the gateway but wanted to insert sonicwall firewall (tz270w) for more control and boy having some fun ☹. i’ve tried many ways but still no go. more specifically, i now know you cannot go into bridge mode with comcast so not in bridge. gateway address already assigned on comast and used one routable for the wan side of the firewall. can ping the gateway and the wan address of the firewall but cannot get through to a host with a routable address. did a one-to-one nat mapping to a private address but cannot ping it or access it from the outside. used the wizard which created the nat association and related access rules for the service (in this case rdp to test). i cannot call comcast as they won’t speak to me even if i wanted to pay for some support – they verify the addresses are ‘on the device’ and that is true as i can use the routable addresses but just cannot insert the sonicwall. not sure what is happening – any advice welcome – at a high level.

Category: Entry Level Firewalls

Answers

• Options
    James_HJames_H Newbie ✭

Have you created your address object for the LAN Network and set allow rules for it from LAN To WAN yet?

• Options
    mceccmcecc Newbie ✭