Join the Conversation

To sign in, use your existing MySonicWall account. To create a free MySonicWall account click "Register".

NSA 4600

Hi All

Apologies if this is a daft question, I'm pretty new to Sonicwall firewalls. My current employer has a pair of NSA 4600 in HA configuration.

We're only currently using half of the physical interfaces, and I am looking to utilise more of them, but was told by a colleague that this requires additional licenses. If any configuration is added it's wiped off after a short period of time and not retained.

Firstly is this correct? I tried to google but came up short, secondly, if it is correct can anyone advise on the license required to enable all the physical interfaces? Unfortunately the supplier we use to purchase this sort of stuff doesn't have a clue.

Cheers

Rich

Category: Firewall Management and Analytics

Answers

• Hey @Rich,

In general, all interfaces are available to use and do not require additional licensing. You mention "If any configuration is added it's wiped off after a short period of time and not retained." This sounds like you may be configuring the stand alone HA device. After a period of time it will re-sync with the primary at which point it will indeed wipe away any configuration.

If I've missed the mark and this is not the case with you, can you provide the steps that you take to configure the interface before it is wiped out?

Thanks!

CC @KaranM

@micah - SonicWall's Self-Service Sr. Manager

• KaranMKaranM Administrator

Hello @Rich