Join the Conversation

To sign in, use your existing MySonicWall account. To create a free MySonicWall account click "Register".

Options

Help With SSLVPN - Allow by FQDN /IP

HI All,

First off i am new to Sonicwall and have very limited experience. I am having trouble with a hacker who is constantly battering the sslvpn port 4433, so I would like to tighten up who can connect, changing the port will only buy time so i need a solution. In my head I have thought what could I do to make it more difficult for users to see 4433, and I have come up with this idea and wondered if this can be done on sonicwall.

First off I could install the Dynamic DNS Update Client (DUC) on my home computers and other computers who connect via the SSL, this will update all IP address everytime they or I reboot, or it times out and automatically updates it. I then put this FQDN into an address object on Sonicwall so it then knows my home computers ip's.

With this info is it possible to create some sort of rule that says if the connection is coming from the IP of the FQDN allow port 4433 with a high priority rule, and then do a lower priority rule to deny anything on 4433?

I have jumped on SonicWALL and don't see an option to allow a group of FQDN's, and hoped one of you guys would have a better idea or maybe could tell me if this would work

Thanks

Category: Entry Level Firewalls
Tagged:

Best Answer

• Options
    CORRECT ANSWER
    BWCBWC Cybersecurity Overlord ✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

@stokie21 list custom & default rules (All Types), the default one is probably above your deny rule. Get rid of your two custom rules and set the Source of the default rule to your WAN_FQDN_HOME_WORKERS object.

--Michael@BWC

Answers

• Options
    ArkwrightArkwright All-Knowing Sage ✭✭✭✭

You can add multiple FQDN address objects to an address object group, and use this group in the WAN>WAN rule for SSLVPN services.

• Options
    stokie21stokie21 Newbie ✭

thanks for the reply