Join the Conversation

To sign in, use your existing MySonicWall account. To create a free MySonicWall account click "Register".

Options

Geo-IP Location

Hello,

I have a TZ series with Geo IP filtering. Although I have blocked most IPs outside the US, I still receive failed login reports where the IP address attempting to log in is in a blocked country. I have checked the DB and it shows the IP is outside the US and I don't have any Geo-IP exclusions.

Any ideas?

Category: Firewall Security Services

Answers

• Options
    Simon_WeelSimon_Weel Enthusiast ✭✭

Seen the same thing. I created a service request and the Sonicwall people want to call in and have a look at it. Now writing in English is quite different from speaking in English - I'm not good at that, especially when it gets technical, so I didn't follow up on it.

• Options

Thanks Simon,

I you hear back from them about what it could be please post back.

-Miguel

• Options
    MustafaAMustafaA SonicWall Employee

@Hominis_Floridanus , can you please let me know if you have a Technical Support case with us? Also, can you share what firmware version you are using? Thanks in advance.

• Options

Hello Mustafa,

I don't have a support case and all my devices are running current versions. Since I posted a while back, I can't remember the specifics. I will see when it happens again and record the exact model, firmware version and more details.

• Options

Hello again Mustafa,

TZ-270, latest firmware SonicOS 7.0.1-5145. I have Geo-IP blocking set, block all connections radio button, no custom list enabled and block all unknown countries set. Yet traffic from some blocked countries reaching some NAT'ted hosts because the software based IDS/IPS on those hosts shows IP blocking in the logs.

Checking the IP address against the Sonicwall Geo-IP database it shows the Geo-IP has the correct country listed for the IP. I'm scratching my head as to why this is happening.

• Options