Join the Conversation

To sign in, use your existing MySonicWall account. To create a free MySonicWall account click "Register".

Sonicwall VoIP via VPN issue

This is a blatant duplication of a post that I've made elsewhere but I'm tearing my hair out without finding a solution. I feel like the answer is probably painfully obvious to someone with more Sonicwall experience than I have so here I am.

I've been sifting through other discussions on VoIP via an IPSEC, both in the Sonicwall community and elsewhere, for the last few days but haven't found a solution for my issue yet.

I have a new customer with a Sonicwall SOHOW in their office. Sonicwall's aren't something I have a lot of experience with but when they asked to put in a VoIP set for a remote employee, I figured using a 2nd SOHOW was a good option rather than make both ends something different. After all, and IPSEC tunnel is a simple matter right?

Since the new unit has to be shipped across the country, I set up the SOHOW in my office and created an IPSEC tunnel to a Netgate/pfSense unit that I had on hand. I configured the Netgate to act as the main office thinking that I will only have to change the Phase1 when I ship out the SOHOW. I have done many site-to-site VPN's that include VoIP using other firewalls. I'm pretty good with the subject matter, but inexperienced with Sonicwall. The idea was to have both LAN's here on the bench, set up IPSEC IKEv2 and configure the VoIP set to connect to the PBX, also here on the bench, along with the other VoIP sets destined for installation in the main office. The PBX will be installed as part of this project and will use FXO to connect to pre-existing lines onsite. There won't be any external VoIP connections or NAT to other providers required.

Main Office (a pfSense for bench purposes)

WAN IP - 10.1.10.1/16

LAN IP - 192.168.1.1/24

PBX - 192.168.1.200

SOHOW

WAN IP - 10.1.2.1/16

LAN IP - 192.168.5.1/24

VOIP Set x1002 - 192.168.5.202