Join the Conversation

To sign in, use your existing MySonicWall account. To create a free MySonicWall account click "Register".

How to access the secondary Firewall TZ600?

Hello everybody,

I am very new to Sonicwall and in general to Firewall configuration. I have a small problem with a TZ600 secondary Firewall. I would like to configure my secondary with a different IP but can't access it (i have 2 from the same ISP). Both of them are running ok and the HA is configured.

My questions are:

Do I do this properly or i am missing something?

Can i configure the Secondary with a separate line from the same ISP? (dotted line from the scheme)

How can i access the secondary to configure it?

My configuration is like this:

Many thanks in advance

Category: Entry Level Firewalls
Tagged:

Answers

• Hello @Security_1234,

Welcome to SonicWall community.

When two devices are configured in HA, they have identical physical and logical configuration. So, if X1 is configured with IP1 on the primary device, so will the X1 interface on the secondary device. They share identical IP addresses on each interface.

For management purposes, we have an option to assign separate IP addresses to each of the firewalls so that both of them can be managed independently. You would need to assign a usable IP to each of the firewalls and enable management to access them. In this KB below, it is explained for the LAN interface, but the same applies to the WAN interface as well.

Please go through it and if you have any additional questions, please let us know.

Thanks!

Shipra Sahu

Technical Support Advisor, Premier Services

• Hello @shiprasahu93

Thank you for the fast response. Thank you for the documentation, everything is configured as in there. My follow up question is: Do i need a second line with the same IP on the ISP router, for backup Firewall and one for the LAN?

Thanks

• @Security_1234,