Join the Conversation

To sign in, use your existing MySonicWall account. To create a free MySonicWall account click "Register".

The connection has timed out

Good morning everyone,

I have a question that might sound simple for most IT Professionals but I'm very new to IT and am looking for some help. I work for a small start-up and we recently purchased a SonicWall TZ350. This morning we went through the initial setup guide, created SonicWall accounts and registered the device. After configuring it we then took it to our second location to place it on the network for good. But now we're unable to log into it. Every time we try using the https://192.168.168.168 we get a message stating the connection has timed out and we never get to the login screen. We're kind of perplexed as to what we're doing wrong. I've started PING and half of the requests time out. Anyone have any ideas as to what the problem could be and/or how to get around it?

Category: Entry Level Firewalls

Answers

• Hello @Reality,

I would like to know how are you testing this? Have you connected a single device to X0 interface and then trying or just from the LAN network?

Who is the DHCP server on the network? Is it the SonicWall or some Microsoft server?

If possible, please connect a computer directly to X0 and then test. It is possible that somehow 192.168.168.168 is also assigned to a different device causing these errors.

After we test by connecting directly, we can further drill down what could be the issue. Also, have you tried managing it over WAN or using SSH to access the CLI?

Thanks!

Shipra Sahu

Technical Support Advisor, Premier Services

• NevyadithaNevyaditha Moderator

@Reality ,

I hope you are doing good.

Can you please let us know what browser you have used? Can you try to login from a different browser?

What is the Firmware you have on the appliance?