Join the Conversation

To sign in, use your existing MySonicWall account. To create a free MySonicWall account click "Register".

Block Browsers

I have been asked to block browsing on some production computers. I used the Wizard to set up the policy, but I can still browse the Internet on said computers. Can someone help me?

Firmware Version:SonicOS Enhanced 5.9.2.13-7o

Safemode Version:SafeMode 5.0.5.0

ROM Version:SonicROM 5.0.6.0

Category: Entry Level Firewalls
Tagged:

Answers

• TKWITSTKWITS Community Legend ✭✭✭✭✭

Why not just use an Access Rule to deny traffic to HTTP, HTTPS, and TCP 8080 ports from those devices?

• 79schultz79schultz Newbie ✭

I'll give that a try. As you can see, I am a Newbie, so trying to figure out how to make some of this work (or not work) ;).

😏

So, finding out more requirements for this, we need to have access to an internal website, but all other websites blocked.

So, for instance, we need customer.mycompanyname.com available (that is used in a browser for order fulfillment), but would like to block internet browsing.

• AjishlalAjishlal Community Legend ✭✭✭✭✭

@79schultz

Follow the below steps to accomplish your goal;

Step1:

Create address object (IP/MAC) for the computers which you need to block the internet traffic.

Step2:

Create address object group (For Example: Block-Internet) and add those IP/MAC of the computers.

Step3:

Create ACL Rule as same as below;

NB: Keep this rule above of the default LAN-WAN rules. (High Priority)

Please bear with me as I am learning a lot about Sonicwalls and learning about how the system is set up at our company.

I realize I should have been more explicit about our network.

I work at the west branch of our company and it is at the west branch that we need to block Internet browsing on some of the production computers. We connect to our main branch through a VPN, our database is at the main branch. We also use Splashtop Streamer so we can remote into any computer if needed.