Join the Conversation

To sign in, use your existing MySonicWall account. To create a free MySonicWall account click "Register".

Site to Site VPN

Hello Community,

So I am new to sonicwalls and need to create a site to site VPN. I have the instructions from the other side and need the VPN to connect to one of our servers only.

What is the best way to do this please?

Sonicwall NSa 4650

Thanks,

Asif

Category: Mid Range Firewalls

Best Answer

• CORRECT ANSWER
    Asif_IqbalAsif_Iqbal Newbie ✭
    Answer ✓

@BWC no worries - we all have days like this :). I'll check this now and save.

Thanks,

Asif

Answers

• BWCBWC Cybersecurity Overlord ✭✭✭

@Asif_Iqbal do you know how to create a VPN Tunnel? If not check the following KB-Article.

To allow only the needed access, you have to uncheck " Suppress automatic Access Rules creation for VPN Policy" on the Advanced Tab of your VPN Policy. This denies any traffic per default and you have to create an Access Rule from VPN to LAN allowing the access to the Resource.

--Michael@BWC

• Hi Michael,

Thanks for your reply. I have seen the article you have mentioned. I have gone through the OS 6.5 setup. However, I do not know if what I have setup is correct for the other party to access the required server only.

Thanks,

Asif

@Asif_Iqbal is the other party running a SonicWall as well? The Access Rules are straight forward if you have your Tunnel up and running.

Remote Side: Local Net -> Your Server / Service - Allow

Local Side: (VPN to LAN) Remote Net -> Your Server / Service - Allow

Just check the mentioned Advanced Setting, this will avoid the Default Rule.

--Michael@BWC

• @BWC the other side is a Cisco ASA. Thanks for the pointers. I'll check this out shortly.

Kind Regards,

Asif