Join the Conversation

To sign in, use your existing MySonicWall account. To create a free MySonicWall account click "Register".

Help redirecting port/service to LAN server

IbanRoIbanRo Newbie ✭

Hi there,

I've spent several hours reading documentations and trying different things, but I'm not able to allow connections from WAN to specific IPs inside the LAN.

This is the first time I configure a firewall like this, but I have basic knowledge of basic concepts like port/service redirection or translation, etc. From what I see, it shouldn't be that hard, and I think it should work with what I've done so far but... it doesn't work.

The Firewall I'm trying to configure is a TZ 300, with SonicROM 5.6 and SafeMode 6.2.

What I want to achieve is:

Using the public IP address of our office, allow external connections to a SQL Server we host here. The idea is to allow only connections from our physical shops (they use a custom app to connect to our office to handle sells, invoices, etc.).

Currently we are using a VPN connection, but apparently it's having some issues and my boss wants to change it and use the firewall.

What I've done so far:

1) Redirected the port 1433 on the ISP router (also 21 for some other tests) and point it to the public SonicWall IP (X1)

2) I have created 3 address objects:

- The LAN private IP for the server.

- The LAN public IP for the server.

- My cellphone 4G IP for testing (currently trying with Android SQL Client)

3) Also, I created a NAT Policy.

Original Destination: Public (192.168.1.31)

Translated Destination: Private (192.168.0.102)

4) And finally I added the Firewall rule.

Destination: Public (192.168.1.31)

When trying to connect, the Android app reports ECONNREFUSED.

I also tested an FTP connection: