Join the Conversation

To sign in, use your existing MySonicWall account. To create a free MySonicWall account click "Register".

Restrict Remote Management to IP Address

Hello, I'm new to Sonicwall devices and Community. hope someone might be able to help me..

I generally have allowed Remote Management of my devices so that I can manage them from my home/office - however it was pointed out that this should be restricted to only allow my IP address to access these devices.

I've tried to follow the instructions I found (by creating an address object with my public IP address - called Tribus) and then placing that in the rule that allows remote management (on port 8443) - changing it from "any" to "Tribus"

however, when I do - it prevents my remote management and can only access from the LAN.. as soon as I change the rule back to "Any" - I can access it remotely.

Can anyone advise/comment?

Category: Entry Level Firewalls

Answers

• BWCBWC Cybersecurity Overlord ✭✭✭

@MarkR you modified the WAN-WAN Rule for HTTPS Management to your X1 IP? This usually works as expected when you have your external (WAN) IP address used as source for that rule. That's a standard deployment I used in the hundreds.

You should crank up a Packet-Monitor for Port 8443 and see what and why it gets dropped.

--Michael@BWC

• MarkRMarkR Newbie ✭

Thanks for your prompt response..

I have attached a document - if you don't mind.. page 1 shows the rule with "Tribus" as the source and the result when it's in place.. page 2, shows the rule with "Any" as the source and the successful connection..

BTW - I just tried with the actual IP address of the destination (not the DYNDNS name) which I thought might be complicating things.. but it still doesn't work.

I'll try to trace as suggested.. unless you see something in the attached that might trigger a solution..

@MarkR if Tribus is identical to the IP where are you connecting from it should work.